School Starts But Summer Still Hangs On!

Tague, Olan Mills

We all know summer is hot, but it always comes as a rude shock to me each year just how hot it is and for how long! Yet, thank goodness, morning walks remind me of nature’s loveliness. . .

I’m reminded of this time the last few years when I lived wondering how long I’d have with my husband who is a cancer patient. Somehow we have waded through four summers with the support of family and friends. Once we made peace with the idea of enjoying each day, life has become rather pleasant. My experience with chronic disease has taught me several things, some which do help and some which do not help.

The hotter the days are, the more I appreciate air conditioning. Because of it, I can still cook hot foods all year round. However, if the food is really good, I have to avoid the scales for a week or so! As a tutor and grandmother, I still get to enjoy the magic of childhood while also having extra time to organize my living space in my house and my tutoring room. My friend Kate has lots of good ideas to get me going.

Summer has been a fun time with friends, partly because my husband retired in place, so we are still tied to familiar friends and places. Retirement offers so many possibilities. I have friends who have given away and/or sold much of their stuff to enjoy living in an RV, and others who live in retirement communities. I find myself staying inside most of the time, except for a delicious morning walk and regular lawn work. Guess which one I enjoy the most:-)

Meanwhile, I’m perfectly content to enjoy teaching since it keeps me both energized and fed, ha. And my caregiving duties serve to keep me from becoming a couch potato. All in all, it’s been a great summer. But would someone please turn the heat off!!!


Copyright by Hildra Tague. Contact author for permission for print or online republication.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Deep Breathing Moments: Meditations for the Unpremeditated, Poetry and Inspiration: Including Personal Growth and Self Awareness, Savor Our Seniors to Grow Bold Along With Me – The Rest is Yet to Come and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

