Grief Tearbook: How I Moved From Divorce Grief to a New Husband

I had already made it through several stages of grief about the divorce which I was grieving even though I instigated the life change. A good friend sensed I was stuck in sorrow and decided she’d get me out and about.

She almost literally dragged me to a singles program on philosophy.  The topic was evil – not one I would have chosen.   It had all the makings of a boring evening.  People were sitting in rows of chairs waiting to hear a lecture on philosophy no less!

The professor explained a variety of theories about evil on four white boards.  He kept putting them together by finding commonalities till he seemed to boil it down to things like hurricanes, tornadoes, and other natural disasters.

Well, I could sit still no longer.  I had just been through all the insurance hassles of a major hurricane so I was armed with stories of my reality.

I raised my hand and commented, “My insurance agent told me those are legally defined as Acts of God!”

The speaker was not amused.  Neither was I.  I had lived on the edge of financial doom due to that storm.  He picked up his stuff and left.

During that question and answer period I had noticed a tall guy with the bluest eyes ever.  He took an interest and sought me out afterward, and over the noise of the crowd I said, “I don’t care who you are as long as your name isn’t Larry (my ex) or you’re not a salesman.”

It turned out he was guilty on both counts. Maybe I offended the speaker, but I got the prize:  My current husband thought it was funny and decided to get to know me☺

It led to many years of companionship, kindness, and humor.

Copyright by Hildra Tague. Contact the author for print or online republication.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Grief Tearbook, Matters of the Heart: Grief and Other Feelings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grief Tearbook: How I Moved From Divorce Grief to a New Husband

  1. Pingback: Grief Tearbook: A Pink Slip on Christmas Day | Hildra Tague's Celebrations of Learning Blog

Leave a Reply

