Honeysuckle Air: Buying a Car to Save $7.00 in Taxi Fares – Humor

It is fascinating how we make spontaneous choices and quickly find a way to justify them.

One year I had gone without a car due to a serious car accident that  pretty much prevented me from walking for a year.  I had 17 injuries which resulted in my having both a  surgery on my knee and a hernia where the seat belt saved my life with a whop to my gut.

Although a dear couple we knew made us a great deal on a replacement car, my husband drove it to work and I was without a car most of the time.  However, since I was not up to driving, it was the right thing for that point in time.

It worked out that I was living at the time above the small school where I worked, so I was tolerating the limitations fairly well.  My dear husband did all the grocery shopping, and a longtime teacher friend came in to work at 1:00 each day to finish my class since I was so  worn out by then that I just had to sit down. Friends had been generous in transporting me to the many medical appointments to help me in the long and arduous process of healing. I was getting stronger all the time, but hadn’t yet replaced the car which had been totaled in a mere second.

However, I had an appointment a few days before Christmas and was having a hard time finding a ride to help me get there.  Someone mentioned our community did have a taxi and I found out it would take about $7.00 to get to my appointment.

For some weird reason, that revelation triggered my growing impatience with not driving, and I found myself insisting on going car shopping in the blinding rain since that was the only day I had available before the appointment.

I took great pride in having saved $7.00 as I drove myself to that appointment, and later to a Christmas Eve service at my church.  As I began to make monthly car payments, I realized how burned out I had become with being totally dependent on others.

My friends and family never forgot to chuckle at my supposed reason for buying that car—to save a taxi fare of course!

Copyright by Hildra Tague. Contact the author for print or online republication.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Honeysuckle Air - Memoirs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Honeysuckle Air: Buying a Car to Save $7.00 in Taxi Fares – Humor

  1. Deborah Aldridge says:

    I haven’t had a car for two years, and in the town where I live, there is no decent public transportation. I miss so much having a car sometimes, but then I think about insurance and maintenance, not to mention payments, and I decide to wait just a little longer. I’m now moving to Gainesville, FL, where they have a wonderful public transportation system, and I don’t know if I will ever want a car again. Well, of course, I will eventually, but it has saved me a lot of impulse spending not having a car. Too easy to just jump in and drive up to the store to buy things I really don’t need.

    Like

Leave a Reply

