Grief Tearbook: A Pink Slip on Christmas Day

We all know what a pink slip is, when a person loses a job. Well, one might say I got a pink slip the day I knew for sure my role as a wife was basically over. I got a pink slip — not in the form of being asked for a divorce — but in just very clear absence of marriage when my husband hit mid-life crises. This tells the whole story of the heart:

I got my Pink Slip on Christmas Day.
I tried to brush the tears away.                                                                                                             I worked and thought and tried to pray.
What to do with my Pink Slip from Christmas Day?

I finally decided to go away
To think it over – at least for a day.

I dealt with myself and when I came back
I was all ready for a bunch of flak.                                                                                                       I did what I had to; I then saw a lawyer.
I wondered if I could handle the life of Tom Sawyer.

The pain was a wall that went on forever.
My logic couldn’t completely sever
The pain at giving up marital dreams
‘Twas worse than death, or so it seemed.

I lived day by day – I went through the motions.
I had lots to say – drowning in emotions.

The time passed slow; I almost grew old.
Feeling as if I had been left out in the cold.

But now somehow I’m movin’ on.
Some of my energy’s still gone.
Yet I’ll work to patch the hole in my soul.
(That Pink Slip might just make me more bold!)

I may never, yea never, choose to feel old.

Copyright by Hildra Tague.  Request for republication must be made to the author.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Grief Tearbook, Matters of the Heart: Grief and Other Feelings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grief Tearbook: A Pink Slip on Christmas Day

  1. Deborah Aldridge says:

    Sad, but well written. I think grief and loss are the two hardest things to get over. I’m still not over my father and husband dying two months apart 24 years ago. Probably never will be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

