Meditation: The Music of the Morning

The Music of the Morning
Tague, Olan Mills

I blink as the cars are singing me awake. I try to resist but find myself smiling, then arise to the gentle music of the morning. The skip was particularly good today at 5:00 a.m. so sounds could travel a long way.  The faint but audible humming of cars moving on the freeway almost a mile away was buzzing sweetly in my ears.

It reminded me of when I spent the summer in New York City after my first year at college. I would sit on the rooftop late at night and hear all kinds of echoes of motors, conversations, and the urban heartbeat. Those times were great for remembering how I was a little part of it all.

The holidays, and the weekend was wonderfully busy, but school is starting up again and I must move.

We had a white Christmas with great food, fine family, and all the trimmings. The grandchildren were wonderful–each in their own way. Wii Fit became the spectator sport of the holidays while we were snowed in a few days. Each person tried to beat their last score, and someone else was always ready to get right on when one finished!

It was thrilling to hear my marvelous grandchildren say “Hi, Grandma Without The Goat.” (They used to call me Grandma With The Goat when I had a goat as a mascot for the small private school I ran.) There may be other grandmas with a goat, but I’ll bet there aren’t any called Grandma Without the Goat. That’s written GWOTG!

But duty calls, and I must go. The oatmeal warms me and I take my allergy pill to ward off the sniffles. I then plop on the cap my grand-daughter made me in an effort to keep my wet hair from the cold. Then I head off to have a great day.

Today I’m directing an orchestra. Another day I led a band, and yet another I helped pre-K students count to 10. It’s really special when I get to talk to highschoolers about their futures, helping them prepare for college and a job market they didn’t cause, nor do they deserve.

However, some of my best days have been reading Tacky The Penguin to elementary students while teaching about accepting diversity. Or teaching groups of any age to drum and sing The Earth is Our Mother to start them thinking about taking care of the earth.

What I learned from the morning music of the singing cars is that sometimes serendipity strikes when it’s least expected. So I plan to pay attention to all the good moments the new year may bring.

I’m so glad I was able to stop and enjoy the snowy holidays and spend time with my grandchildren. Now I’m ready to buckle down and start the new year. Happy January everyone!


Ready for the New Year, dave
Copyright by Hildra Tague.  Contact author for permission to use online or in print.
About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Deep Breathing Moments: Meditations for the Unpremeditated, Honeysuckle Air - Memoirs, Poetry and Inspiration: Including Personal Growth and Self Awareness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

