Of These My Children: Summershines on Independence Day

Tague, Olan Mills

In July we all think of our great historical heritage, and want to share it with our children. In between the pops and cracks of fireworks, we try to impress tidbits of ideals and facts on them. Sometimes we are privileged to hear how they interpret all of this.

I heard one sincere child singing along and did a double take when her voice rang out with, “the wretched refuse of your stinging sores.” Kids’ language has become more down and dirty I guess, because when I learned it we sang “teeming shores” at that point in the lyrics! I’m so glad the lady who wrote the poem on the Statue of Liberty, Emma Lazarus, isn’t alive to hear this!

Sometimes legend and history become intertwined. At a picnic during the Independence Day weekend, one guy was telling the others all about “Tall Bunyon” and strutting around to show them just how tall he was.

History is so exciting. Most students know all about the Father of our Country. One gal was so thrilled with the book she just read which told about how George Washington crossed the Husband River in New York. I wonder if that’s the same body of water where Captain Sully so deftly put down his plane a while back?

One lad told me happily that he just learned all about Paul Revenge. His church school hadn’t gotten to the part about “Revenge is mine, thus sayeth the Lord.” I sighed and muttered to myself, ‘Listen my children and you shall hear . . . the way to pronounce Paul Revere!”

Older students have to learn of long ago and far away. It was Greek to all of us the day we studied epic poultry, or was that epic pottery? Oh well, it takes so long to read epic poetry, they’ll figure it out soon enough.

A tutoring student wondered what the Ancient History book meant when he was reading about “belief sculpture” till I pointed out the r in relief. Wow, what a relief to learn that the kid didn’t believe everything he read!

Kiddoes ask good questions. One asked why was Napoleon called Bonaparte – was his bone apart? Did he get injured in war or something?

One child had the word “democracy” in his vocabulary list. As I started talking to him, he put his hands on his ears and said, “I’m not supposed to listen to words like that! My parents are Republicans.”

Kids learn alot from TV in the summer. I get lots of “almost accurate” reports about our world. I was told about the country by Egypt called Cereal. Haven’t things changed – they called it Syria when I was a kid.

Another gal heard a program about music in aging Egypt. I guess it’s on the same shelf of the brain. . . as ancient.

Sometimes we talk about vacation spots. One boy said we’d all love “that cocoon in Mexico.” It took a bit before that one unraveled into Cancun!

I guess it’s time to pick up the debris from the fireworks. Or maybe I could take a student’s advice and go see a 3-ring surface. Might as well, cause it’s circus at my house!

Enjoy your summer, folks. And keep your ears out for Summershines. They’re everywhere.

Copyright by Hildra Tague.  Contact author for permission to use in print or online.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Of These My Children: Infamous Sayings of Insidious Intellects – Humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Of These My Children: Summershines on Independence Day

  1. Pingback: Of These My Children: Teaching is a Process of Illumination | Hildra Tague's Celebrations of Learning Blog

Leave a Reply

