From Epitath to Hope – A Child’s 911 Thoughtful Tribute to His Dad

The inspiration for this came directly from listening to a bereaved child.  It is not taking sides politically, but reflecting how one child felt at the tragic death of his father. One might say it’s hope in the style of a eulogy:

Why do they hate us? said a child one day. They must, cause their crashes took my dad away.

I never even had a chance to try to be their friend. I could have helped them sing and dance. But now I guess it’s the end . . .

Since then I’ve heard their music; it’s kinda nice to hear.  How could they despise us so? When they’ve never even been here?

My dad taught me to love; I’m fighting with my heart To find his love in the stars above.  Somehow I’ll do my part.

I try to remember before nine eleven When dad told me to give others a chance.  Before the hate sentenced my dad to heaven. . . My mind’s confused just like scattered ants.

I’ll make a new friend in the name of my dad to honor his memory I’ll keep trying. It’ll be different from any I’ve ever had.  But how did we get here? I can’t keep from crying!

We’ve got one world.  We simply must share it. We must get to know each other ‘cross the seas. ‘Cross religion, ‘cross history, across tradition too. Don’t all mamas want it? Don’t all Gods want peace?

So let’s all do whatever each of us can to live in a way that honors my dad. And all of the others; some of them mothers.

Let’s make it a new fad. Let’s make everyone’s God glad!

– as heard from the mouth of a ‘little child that shall lead them’ –

Copyright by Hildra Tague.  Contact author for permission to republish  in print or online.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Children's Stories, Deep Breathing Moments: Meditations for the Unpremeditated, Grief Tearbook, Matters of the Heart: Grief and Other Feelings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment