Teaching Can Be Dangerous: The Day the FBI Came to My Class

Size doesn’t always tell the whole story.

I had a diminutive child who was a bit slow in academics, but I noticed he was a lightning bolt at recess.

Mid-year I saw a coupe of suits standing at my door during math class.  Since this class didn’t have parental involvement I couldn’t help but wonder.  Also, even if our class had parents visiting, they went by a very different dress code!

I did a double take in an effort to figure out who my visitors were.  Then I saw my principal–keeping a distance from the men in suits. Strange.

That was my first clue.  The bulge at the waist of one of the men showed up as they circled around with the principal, blocking the doorway.

It seemed an elementary student of mine was being used by a burglary ring to run and grab stuff.  He would meet the gang’s needs two ways:  He was both fast and a juvenile so he would always be released rather quickly when he was caught.

However, this time he didn’t return quickly.  Guess the FBI has its own form of elementary education.

I learned from this boy that everyone has skills.  Teaching is for channeling those abilities into legal enterprises.

Copyright by Hildra Tague.  Contact the author for permission to use online or in print.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Education and Parenting, Grief Tearbook, Honeysuckle Air - Memoirs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

