Honeysuckle Air: My Life as a Grandma

I am a very lucky grandma to have five marvelous grandkids, and to have the most special grandma name of all!

It was so exciting!  My older son was having a baby.  When my first grandson entered the world I was truly elated.  I could only hope I could be anywhere nearly as significant as my grandma was to me.

I had the pleasure of visiting him in Colorado a number of times as he was growing up.  Then I even took a road trip to Montana to watch him graduate from high school.  After a year of college, now he’s in the army and seems to be adapting and busy there.

Just a few years later came my oldest granddaughter, a joy to behold.  She was an artist through and through, talented at sports and an avid reader.  The reader part lit up my eyes as a teacher of many years. Not only is she beautiful, but she loves to garden, a passion we both share.  And you should taste her pecan pie–what a cook:-)

Then came the middle grandson, who in early childhood developed a love for trains.  Soon he was into Bionocles and the like.  He possessed engineering talents, didn’t particularly love school, and became quite an accomplished teller of good jokes. He and his older sister took up playing instruments around junior high and he became interested in dancing and good music.

Then along came the princess of the family.  For several years, she maintained a princess persona and played it well!  She too, became a reader and even recommended a couple of good reads to me. She excels in TeKwanDo also. She has become such a fine young lady with a quick wit — far more than a princess could ever be.  .  . I love touching base with her on Facebook.

One summer I went to Colorado to be there for his birth.  He came a bit later, but he was worth waiting for! Eight years later he arm-wrestled his Grandpa Mack and nearly beat him in jiffy.  He plays football and can put you down in almost any board game.

When they were little, they would come visit every year or so and we would visit them.  One of my favorite moments was the way they would call me “Grandma with the Goat” each and every time one of them sat on my lap, or talked to me, even on the phone.  What better name could a grandma have?

It all started because I ran a private school and had a white pygmy goat as a mascot.  Miss Popcorn goat was a fine amusement to all children who knew her! She had a song about her, and even had her own pet–a rabbit. Students enjoyed singing the song we wrote about her, and there are many stories about her life and times. Miss Popcorn even had her own yard; the sign read “Goatrun, Texas – Population 1”.

The grandkids called me Grandma With The Goat since they had several grandparents, and that seemed to distinguish me from others well enough.  What they didn’t know was how it pleased me:-)

Now that I’m mostly retired and Miss Popcorn has gone back to the farm with her cousins, one of the kids noticed one day that their term for me wasn’t exactly right.  So now they call me GWOTG, or Grandma Without The Goat.

Am I lucky to have such wonderful grandchildren and to be their GWOTG, or what?

——–
Copyright by Hildra Tague.  Obtain permission from author for use online or in print.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Children's Stories, Honeysuckle Air - Memoirs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Honeysuckle Air: My Life as a Grandma

  1. Pingback: Honeysuckle Air: The Impossible Letter to Grandma | Hildra Tague's Celebrations of Learning Blog

  2. Erin Schoenberg says:

    What a touching story. It’s beautiful the way you speak of your family.

    Like

  3. Pingback: ‘Twas the Morning of Easter | Hildra Tague's Celebrations of Learning Blog

Leave a Reply

