Of These My Children: Smile at the Finish Line

The pull of summer is upon us, and it seems the best we can do is aim for a graceful exit. What could be done this year is soon becoming a thing of the past. Many students and parents alike are still hoping this also means “passed” a certain hard subject, or perhaps made the grade they desired.

As I see school coming to a close, I reminisce on this year. I remember the first day when all the kids wanted out of school was all A’s and no homework.

The seasons move so quickly  .  .  .  at Halloween we made fantastic black bats and hung them from the ceiling. One was way up high in a corner behind the door and didn’t get taken down when the others did right after the party.

At the Thanksgiving feast some students noticed it and one remarked that I, their teacher, couldn’t reach that high even on a step-stool.

After a thoughtful pause, an elfin voice rang out, “He’d make a nice Christmas bat! We could staple some red and green to his wings because they hang down where our teacher  could reach.”

The whole class loved the idea and we were the only class lucky enough to have our very own Christmas bat this year.

Writing is a challenge for adults and kids alike. One after-school tutoring student rushed in and said he had a writing assignment for homework. His teacher had said to do it twice. He was supposed to write it and then confuse it. (We revised it just to keep from getting confused.)

The next day a gal asked me how to spell capitol L in cursive. She said she had already written her headline (pretty good name for a heading).

In Social Studies we heard about the Silver War between the North and the South.

When we studied presidents we read about Ike Wisenhower. The sincere reader wasn’t even trying to be a weisenheimer.

A study of the states showed us that the Indiana state flower was puny (peony). We studied that Virginia grew tobacco and a lad said his uncle likes tobacco sauce on everything he eats! We also learned of Sea Little, a large city in Washington. Our unit on the world turned up two new countries: I Quack and Itch It. (I grew up thinking it was Iraq and Egypt).

Science always stirs the sense of wonder. I wondered last month why a girl was so afraid of cirrus clouds till she explained that since they were “serious” she thought they meant business!

Our class especially enjoyed doing a paper machete volcano project. Just after class a small child rushed up to say he needed me to help him mesmerize his new words.

We are all looking forward to summer. One child is planning to go drag erasing with his uncle. Another can’t wait to let his bird loose each morning to fly around in the utiliary room (Is that a cross between utility and aviary–or am I going batty?)

I don’t know what I’ll do the last day of school. I might take one lad’s advice and go home I and take an aspen. Then I could cook some barcoli so I don’t get information of the liver.

Maybe I’ll do some summer sauce and catch a good pomgranate on TV. What the heck, I think I’ll cut loose and go to the Cinnamon and catch a movie!

Copyright by Hildra Tague. Obtain permission for use online or in print.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Of These My Children: Infamous Sayings of Insidious Intellects – Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

