Educational Issues: Open Letter to Sal Kahn

As I watched 60 Minutes Labor Day of 2012, I am driven to offer my most sincere congratulations to you and your staff.

In the early 80’s as computers were in their infancy, I started a private school for kids who were ‘falling out of the net.’ Since the school was my own creation, I set the criteria so these children didn’t have to fail for a certain period of time (the existing policy in many schools then) before they got the needed help.

It was my goal to reach children who weren’t learning happily and/or successfully, no matter the reason.

I set up 16 computers with as many children, spent my retirement and profits investing in computer programs needed by certain students. Then my nights and weekends were spent getting the prescribed programs loaded and set up for individual students. It was very time intensive, but it was my dream.

What you’ve added is a tracking system, user friendly setup (so huge amounts of staff time aren’t required to make it work), and most of all: making it reproducible by others. Affordability is achieved by schools or parents only needing a computer.

I am so very thrilled that I get to see this happen in my lifetime! You are doing all I did in my tiny private school, and so much more! Many teachers all over will find their time and efforts multiplied exponentially by having the Academy available to them.  Thank you:-)

My 44 years of teaching (23 in my private school) taught me just what was mentioned on 60 Minutes: True innovation often comes from without, not within, the system. This is because entrepreneur types have perspective, and luckily, they aren’t so tied to the rules and limitations of our educational systems.

What I especially love is Kahn Academy makes skills accessible to anyone anywhere. Thank you, sir, so very much.  I can die happy, but first I’ll spend much more time writing about education and life.

Thank you for making my dreams of education come true! (It’s about the learning, not all the other stuff which ties up energy and prevents accessibility to curriculum.)
You rock, Kahn Academy, and Mr. Kahn.

Hildra Tague, Retired Educator and Writer

(I taught ‘regular’, gifted and special education in public and private schools, specializing in multisensory teaching and motivation – especially in unreached populations.)

P.S. If and when you work more on reading and literature, be sure to include music and rhythmical elements, since they use both sides of the brain and help keep a student’s attention.

AGAIN, Thank you so much for your help in blessing education and our future!

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Education and Parenting, Honeysuckle Air - Memoirs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Educational Issues: Open Letter to Sal Kahn

  1. Pingback: Honeysuckle Air: My Life Is A Donation! | Hildra Tague's Celebrations of Learning Blog

Leave a Reply

