Honeysuckle Air: My Life Is A Donation!

For many years of my adult life I ran a small private school for at risk and other students. It sat on an acre in the woods and was my life’s swan song.

I cherished the place and the people and poured any profits back into it. It was so obvious to me that each little improvement, be it a new plant or a new computer program, fed directly into the vital parts of someone’s life.

It was my dream and my joy to have the honor to uplift young lives. I always said my job was to shine their lives till they learned to shine their own. It took all I had–both energy and money-wise, but it was so very much worth it!

Yet when the Christmas holidays came and I was struggling to providing a charming atmosphere for the students while continuing to put food on my table, I had moments of concern.

Balancing a limited budget while keeping my prices affordable kept me on my toes. One year I boiled spices to make a festive holiday scent since I could not afford more costly arrangements.

This seasonal pressure was compounded by all of the phone calls, letters and even visits by people I knew and those I didn’t know, to contribute to worthy causes.

At times these calls threatened to interfere with my ability to give time to the students to whom my life was dedicated.

One day I could take no more! My friends know me as one who sometimes uses a ‘turn of the phrase’ to deal with life’s challenges. At that point I started telling people who wanted something from me: “My life is a donation and I wish you well and bless your efforts.” Then I would proceed to tell them about my school and its goals.

That usually stopped people short, but in a good way. Folks no longer argued with me or pressured me to give to their cause.

Every time I found myself saying those words it served as a mantra of rededication to my chosen purpose in life. For years I have found it my honor and pleasure to say “My Life is a Donation.”

Copyright by Hildra Tague. Obtain permission for use online or in print.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Deep Breathing Moments: Meditations for the Unpremeditated, Honeysuckle Air - Memoirs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

