Kids in the Kitchen: Just a Stone’s Throw – From Stone Soup

My cooking reflects my general outlook on life–you might call it my philosophy in a pan. Or perhaps A Fable for Hard Times:

The classic in my life was Squash Soup.  While I was in college and had two little boys, a small garden, and an even smaller budget, there came a day when I was out of both money and food. Payday would come soon, but today had to be lived first.

I tried to give time to my sons because I believed it to be more valuable to my offspring than money. So I spent lots of time with them, typing after they were in bed for a job with the Medical Center where I had worked previously.

I got caught in the lurch one day with no hope in sight for a lunch. (That was the same year my dear mother-in-law got me a fine roaster and I cried after I went to bed, wishing I could have had a roast to put in it.)

Knowing Rule #1 was to Be Brave, so I summoned my right brain and marched to the fridge, taking out all the tidbits which weren’t spoiled, being aware that my every move was being monitored by my sons.  It seemed that Rule #2 was to Think Quick. I was in a quite a quandary.

So I sent my unsuspecting boys to the garden to “do the picking” and give me a chance to choke. When they returned with one squash I was recovered enough to fake it.

Chirping “Boys, we are so lucky today. We get to have Squash Soup” I winced inside and got started. I found myself narrating the tossing of torrid tidbits as if it were a privilege. We harked back to early America and my words reeked of a sense of delightful mystery.

Somehow we pulled it off, satisfied their hunger and they went out to play, full of a sense of history and having participated in an important event.

It was at that moment that I knew in my heart that I was on the right track in going for a B.S. degree! (Did I mention that Rule #3 is Find the Humor in Each Day.)

Copyright by Hildra Tague. Obtain permission for use online or in print.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Deep Breathing Moments: Meditations for the Unpremeditated, Education and Parenting, Honeysuckle Air - Memoirs, Kids in the Kitchen: Recipes & More for Kids of All Ages and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kids in the Kitchen: Just a Stone’s Throw – From Stone Soup

  1. Pingback: Honeysuckle Air: Corn Flakes and Jelly | Hildra Tague's Celebrations of Learning Blog

Leave a Reply

