Honeysuckle Air: The Day All the Dishes Broke!

As our family was sitting down to supper, I was aware of my big sister going to get one more item from the kitchen. (She was the queen of the kitchen and my brother and I helped with the dairy work.)

All of a sudden a thunderous crash splintered the air! I awoke from the spell of chaotic confusion to see my brother actually leap over the table.

He had seen the kitchen cabinets (actually shelves made of three boards) tumbling forward toward my sister!

He got there just in time to save here even if most every dish we owned broke in a moment of ear-splitting crashes.

As those crunching moments moved on in time, my mother started crying, or rather bawling, that we had no dishes left. My sister was in a state of shock as we began to pick up shards, placing them in the large tin tub which we used for baths.

When things settled down, the realization occurred that there were a few dishes on the table where supper was laid out. Dinner was then eaten but not adequately digested as we were all traumatized at the shrieking sounds of crashing glass splintering in a thousand pieces.

Over the years family members have tried to understand what we saw with our own eyes. My brother, who is fairly short, actually performed an impossible leap in that split second. He jumped over the table so fast that we were in shock, wondering if it actually happened.

Remembering this makes me thankful for the doors which cabinets usually have on them now. Back then, doors would have given my sister and brother an extra margin of safety.

I will always be astounded at that day my brother jumped over the table.

Copyright by Hildra Tague. Obtain permission for use online or in print.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Grief Tearbook, Honeysuckle Air - Memoirs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

