Of These My Children: Dying Is a Bad Habit

Teaching is so much fun. The students teach me new things every day.

In Math a young scholar told us what a.m. meant. He knew, “It means all morning.” 

Graphs and charts give the students quite a challenge. We studies “rows and collies” but old timers probably call it rows and columns.

Geometry raised its ugly head the day we studied lines of cemetery. We took one more day on that unit and let the students practice ways of drawing lines of symmetry. They loved folding the pictures in half to find those lines. I was so glad we didn’t have to go to the graveyard to complete the assignment.

Social Studies can take you around the world. So can lunch. On our travels, a boy did a report on Toquita Kruschev. I guess one of his parents was from Russia and the other from Mexico?

Science includes a study of health and the human body.  One of my dear students who was very skinny said, “People look at me and think I’m anesthetic.”  Maybe instead of being anorexic she’s planning to go to medical school to be an anesthesiologist.

At lunch kids are full of stories. One gal said her mother was a baby bloomer. I decided to add names of generations like Baby Boomer to the Social Studies unit that week.

One gal said her mother was afraid to go shopping on Saturday since “there is a serious killer out there.” I was glad when the news said they caught the Serial Killer. 

While we were discussing crime a guy said he heard there was a Drive-by Scooter out there. I changed the subject since I didn’t really want to talk about drive-by shooters while we were eating. But I couldn’t help but imagine a retired tough guy on a scooter.

A boy took a big bite out of his sandwich and said, My grandparents are on vacation. They’re staying at a Blood and Breakfast. Ya think they’ll cook the blood before they eat it for breakfast?” Looks like I had some explaining to do. Or maybe I should just take a trip myself and try out one of those Bed and Breakfast  places.

I asked one guy what he had in his thermos and he answered excitedly, “Iced tree.” Maybe I need some of that.

I have always encouraged students to enjoy the discovery of free play. One day I had included some cardboard paper towel tubes in the box of fascinating stuff to play with when we had indoor recess due to weather. A young man grabbed a tube, only to start yelling, “Look at my eye! I’ve got a popeye!”  You never know where the mind of a child has been or will go, but it’s a sure thing that they have more fun playing around in their brains than most adults do. For some reason, the next day I brought a telescope and a pair of binoculars to show the science class.

The afternoon brings Music and fun for all concerned. Children remember much of what they are taught, especially when it’s multi sensory learning. One day I heard a kid singing, “Farmer in the Jail” and I realized how much our world has changed since farmers used to work down in the dell. 

I love to incorporate music into the regular curriculum. It provides a vehicle for learning as well as a much deserved break from studies. One day all the students were singing wholeheartedly and I happened to hear one child booming, “Little Bony Foo Foo” with all sincerity. I listened again and realized my bunny ears had indeed heard it correctly.

It was Free Reading Time, and one guy had a book entitled Children’s Verse. I was glad to see him branching out in his reading, till he said, “What kids have the virus? I can’t wait to find out!”  Guess we need to add the word verse to our spelling list.   .   .

New words come up all the time in the life of a child. We read a story about a bilingual family and one boy eagerly told me, “I know three lan-witches!”  For a moment I wondered if he meant sandwiches. Then I realized what he meant! Evidently English was not one of his three languages.

As the students wait on their rides home, they visit about their lives. One young lady told us her grandma had gray hair, but her grandpa called it “wisdom hair”.

Kids find the pursuit of wisdom is elusive at best. A young child screeched–“Why do they pull out their feet?!” He had just overheard a conversation by teens about having their wisdom teeth taken out and how the dentist had pulled them out after putting them to sleep.

I was checking papers after school and one sensitive soul wrote careful Spelling Sentences. For the word habit he advised, “Dying is a bad habit.” I couldn’t argue with that. I knew it was time for me to take a break for some Ice Tree. I need to relax a bit now that the papers are graded since I wouldn’t want to wake up dead as another young writer cautioned in his writing.

And of course we all know that Dying is a bad habit.

Copyright 2013 by Hildra Tague. Obtain permission for use online or in print.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Of These My Children: Infamous Sayings of Insidious Intellects – Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

