Meditation: The Spiritual Practice of Trimming Your Life Regularly

At various points in my lifetime I’ve found ways to enjoy gardening. Even in New York City I spent time with the sparse plants on the sidewalks and parks were refreshing to my soul.

For a number of years I grew over 30 plants on a raised porch which we called The Chocolate Porch.

These plant friends didn’t require daily care, but I could tell when I had waited a bit too long to give them attention.

My work hours were long and it wasn’t too unusual for the plants on the porch to have to remind me to attend to them by drooping, rampant overgrowth, etc.

One three day weekend I was determined to attend to my plant friends on the porch. As I finally made it out there on Sunday evening while my hubby was engrossed in a movie, I noticed that time began to just stand still.

I no longer felt my ‘do list’ hounding me to move along. As my focus turned to one plant at a time, I enjoyed interacting with the live green statues. At once I felt both slowed down in my body and revved up in my spirit.

As I lovingly tended to each plant’s needs, my soul felt refreshed and I began to reflect more clearly on my life at hand. Some of the waning flowers needed to be pinched off so new beauty could bloom.

As I trimmed the dead leaves and freshened up the soil I began to compare this action of pruning with my own everyday living. Tending to one’s life involves becoming still at times in order to reflect and realize what needs to be updated and refreshed in our daily lives.

My plants needed me to help them let go of parts so those dead leaves wouldn’t siphon off energy which was needed elsewhere in the live portions of these precious plants.

In much the same way, my life needs me to let go of parts of my life I no longer use in order to generate and infuse energy into the here and now of my life.

Copyright 2013 by Hildra Tague. Obtain permission for use online or in print.

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Deep Breathing Moments: Meditations for the Unpremeditated and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

