Honeysuckle Air: A Letter to My Sister Marjory in Hospice

When I found out my dear sister was headed for Hospice, I was overcome with a desire for her to really know some of the ways she affected my life. I sat down with a full heart and wrote her a letter laced with love and the little things of life which have enriched my days by our sisterhood:-)

My Dearest Marjory,

It’s hard for me to call you my big sister:-) since I’m bigger than you. I want to tell you a few things, my dear sister Marjory. 

You showed me a lady could take charge in the kitchen. You taught me cooking could be fun and creative.

You could sew, crochet, use a surger, etc. which I so admired although I just wasn’t blessed with those particular talents.

You made keeping a home into a grand adventure–pointing the way for me to follow by taking pride and enjoyment in homemaking.

You complimented me when I darted off to New York City after my first year of college. I never forgot that. I held it to my heart, inspired and encouraged by your kind words. You told me you admired the way I went out to make a life for myself (You even spoke kindly of my fingernail polish!).

You were my leader and model in my youth. The world was not quite so scary with you around to show me the way.

Down through the years, I always knew you were there, and you loved and supported me, no matter what, no questions asked. You may not always have agreed with me, a Unitarian Universalist with a somewhat liberal mindset, but you always seemed to understand my personal mission to help underserved children, and my drive to make the world a better place. You respected my choices to follow what I felt called to do with my life.  

I already told you how much I appreciated your faithfulness in taking care of our mother in her later years. She was so thankful to have you and Bill during the last chapters of her life. You even inspired me and Larry Mac to help older folks who had no one.

People who know me say I have an ear for harmony. Well, I have you, my dear sister, to thank for that. We used to sing while you played the piano. Thank you for that gift which has followed me throughout my life.

As Larry Mac noticed when you and I were together time melted away. We always had plenty to talk about. We could go on for hours, yet never be through!  What a good time we had together. I so appreciated your visiting me in Texas.

Most of all, I learned about respect from you. In my life’s journey I didn’t always know respect or feel respected. But every minute I spent with you–whether it be in person, on the phone, or in letters and cards, you conveyed loving respect my way. I will always cherish our sisterhood.  I’m singing, “I walk through the garden alone, while the dew is still on the roses .   .   .  ” 

Thank you for being such a wonderful sister, my big sister, Marjory Carol. I will always love you. In the words of our wonderful Uncle Dexter, so long for now.

Love ever,

Your sister Hildra

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Honeysuckle Air - Memoirs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

