Of These My Children: My Class of Teenage Mutant Injured Turtles

The children at Tree Land School just love watching nature outside at recess. Even while they work inside students are free to glance out the window as they wonder why birds and squirrels have recess all day.

Then, of course, most elementary children really love the very word teenage. So as the famous Turtles have returned to the public scene, these kiddoes are eager to express their opinions and ideas.

One little guy was all heart as he expressed sympathy for those “teenage mutant injured turtles.” I guess no one really wants to know a teenager has been hurt. . .

However, he soon stood corrected. A girl at the next table was quick to clarify with, “Silly, they’re not injured. They’re Ijuns.”   (This gal had relatives in Oklahoma, where they still sometimes call Native Americans Indians, or Injuns for country folks like myself.)

As their teacher, I couldn’t help but puzzle if that meant the class needed to learn about the updated term for American Indians. Native Americans might get their feelings hurt being called injured. Whew, looks like I need a planning period.

I was still enjoying the glow of the recent first day of school when a tiny tot whispered to me as she left for the day, “I think I’ll come back tomorrow.”  Music to a teacher’s ears!

I understand from the news that a mother is incensed that schools are teaching children Arabic numbers! Sorry, but those are the only symbols I can find for elementary math:-(

School was barely picking up speed when a kid in math class said sincerely, “I’m taking my time on my month work.” I paused to think, wondering why that child was talking about months when we were not on that part of the curriculum. Then it hit me! Summer has a way of erasing school terms from a student’s brain. This little scholar meant Math class!

It wouldn’t be till spring was on its way that we planned to study time zones. New words can present a challenge to even the smartest of minds.  A hard-working guy asked, “Are the other Time Zones also named after holidays? You know, like the Easter Time zone?” Hmm, maybe we should add holidays and celebrations to our Language Arts time as soon as I clear up the Eastern Time Zone. 

The children loved it when they finished their arithmetic work early as they were allowed to work on their Counting Collections or Geometric Coloring. One little gal reminded me when I gave the assignment, “Don’t forget what to do in your Spear Time!”  For some reason I added a couple of Bonus Words to next week’s spelling list, spear and spare.

Lunch gives us all a time to stop all work and have a picnic while we chat. Animals are never too far from the children’s minds. Tree Land students get to see a bunny, hens, Mr. Roo the rooster and Miss Popcorn Goat each day. So no one reacted when a little lady told us her “mom was going to bring a Sheep Cake for tomorrow’s birthday.” A boy at the table said he had a friend who had a Ship Cake for his birthday. I decided to do some fractions tomorrow in math as we learn ways to cut a Sheet Cake.

Whew! What a day! Only 35 more weeks in the school year.

The kids can tell I am tired so one guy advised me to head over to “that great Belly” for an after-school snack. One boy says his mom just loves Neilsen’s. Actually, going to the deli sounds like a fine idea to me.

Then maybe I’d better rest a  bit so I can handle all those Ninja hurdles tomorrow’s day in class may throw at me.

Copyright 2015 by Hildra Tague. Obtain permission for publication online or in print. 

About grantutor

Career educator in both public and private schools. Has tutored all ages. Writes about education, parenting, & seniors. Sings harmony with folk/rock group and a choir. Caregiver for spouse who dealt with Stage IV cancer. Happy person committed to nature and conservation of a green world.
This entry was posted in Of These My Children: Infamous Sayings of Insidious Intellects – Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

